Colour, Psychology and Money?

Crayons

I realise I haven’t posted in a very long while, even though I’ve committed myself to posting at least every other day! Honestly, though, the past week has been nothing short of hectic, beginning with a long overdue catch-up session with my Final Year Project Supervisor and lecturer, whom I admire a lot for his calm demeanour, patience (of which one will certainly require a lot when mentoring me!) and his endless wealth of knowledge on just about everything outside his specialty of Physical Chemistry! Following that, work picked up pace and in between debating I’ve also started on a book project with a friend (everything’s still in the planning stage, though!) and of course, my 2nd meeting at the Youth Executive Committee at Kampong Kembangan CC. Finally, just today, I had my second toastmasters meeting at Sheraton Towers, and delivered my maiden impromptu speech for which I won best table topic! But let’s not digress too far from today’s topic.

The psychology of colour has always been a fascinating subject to me. To be more precise, I’ve always had an interest in personality profiling and have read up on the many different methodologies. The Myers-Briggs Test Inventory, based upon Psychologist Carl Jung‘s work on archetypes, will probably be familiar to most, categorising people by Introversion/Extraversion, Sensing/Intuition, Thinking/Feeling and finally Judging/Perception. Some companies might also have paid for you to do a DISC assessment. Then there’s the more mystical sounding Enneagram that divides us into 9 types and depending on our function and stresses, we may shift from one number to the other. The theory and tests available are quite interesting and I’ll just give a link here if you are so inclined to do the tests and find out about your personality. As far as I know, there are several criticisms of these models and by far, the one that has had a higher reputation for validity is the Big Five test, which can also be done in the link above.

And then, there is colour. The psychology of colour is not a new topic, and several psychologists have probably tried to map meanings to certain colours, such as the common notion that red is a warm colour that symbolises energy, confidence while blue is a state of calm and tranquility and so on. Perhaps some of you would have done a test whereby you were asked to select coloured cubes, in order of most liked to least liked colours and gained insight into your mental state at the point of taking the test. This is largely due to the work of Dr. Max Lûscher and the website in question can be found here (though you need to pay, I think).

Just today, however, I came across this in my e-mail and I found it very interesting. It’s called The color of money. The title is a little bit misleading, I must say. I thought my preference for colours would indicate how risk-prone or risk-averse I would be, or perhaps where I might stand to earn big bucks (maybe by writing for a living?), but it’s actually more a test of how you work, and playing to your strengths. I did mine, and was quite surprised to learn some new things about myself.

Perhaps no test will ever tell us for sure who we are, and I do think we should make use of this free will that has been given us to make our lives fulfilling, living out the character we want to be in this life and not letting an inventory decide and compartmentalise us. However, life is too short to be taken seriously all the time too, and as a recreational digression, why not do a test or two?

This entry was posted in Articles, Writings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

