Welcome to Coffeeandpen!

Hello! Blogging is not new to me, but I have recently decided to start, or rather re-start the blog in an attempt to record my observations and thoughts about some of the encounters in my life, primarily to practice and retain my writing abilities.

I currently work in a large public hospital in the central area of Singapore (The possible name of the hospital has just been narrowed considerably by this description). I deal mainly with clinical research, given the surging interest in Evidence-based Medicine, or EbM. To describe EbM and its associated trials and tribulations would spur many other posts, but suffice it to say that my job entails quite a bit of research for now, and I will explain them in future posts when the opportunity arises.

Apart from that, I am actively involved as a volunteer in debating. It may seem like an odd choice, given that people usually volunteer for SPCA, underprivileged children and the elderly, but I think that if one volunteers, it should be for a cause that he or she is passionate about. In my case, it is the lifelong learning and teaching of the art of persuasion, rhetoric and argumentation. It is a passion I picked up in 2004 and have led me to become the Vice-President of the Society for Associated Inter-tertiary Debaters, traveling to places in Malaysia, Macau and China to promote and proliferate debating.

Most recently, on a friend’s suggestion, we have both decided to join the ranks of the Youth Executive Committee as well. Specifically, we are now observers and soon-to-be members of the Kampong Kembangan Community Club’s Youth Executive Committee, where the activities are much more targeted and there is room to spearhead new initiatives and help out with existing efforts. We’re both very excited by the coming year and its plethora of activities!

In essence, the blog will be more about reflections on life, work, as well as some essays on various topics related to speaking and writing and of course, some of the topics discussed during debating or as part of my general interest in just about anything. All opinions contained herein are solely that of mine, and do not represent any of the institutions I work for, or are otherwise affiliated with. This is a blog meant for writing practice and reference, but if you find my writing helpful in any way, do feel free to visit often!

The website for the Society for Associated Inter-tertiary Debaters is here. This wordpress blog contains all our activity reports, our mission statement and contacts, if you are interested in collaborating with us to run a debating workshop or tournament, please visit us for more details.

The website for the Kampong Kembangan Community Club Youth Executive Committee is still under construction, but when it is up, I will be sure to put a link here.
If you have a Linkedin profile and wish to connect with me, my linkedin page is here. If you like, you can write me a testimonial and I will help you with one as well.

I prefer not to disclose my e-mail address, so please direct all other queries to the comments section with some means of contact (phone or e-mail) and if need be, I will get back to you personally.

This entry was posted in Writings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome to Coffeeandpen!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

